Image by Arek Socha from Pixabay 


Buddha, also known as Sakyamuni Buddha, is the founder of Buddhism. Lord Buddha attained “Enlightenment” under the Bodhi tree. After attaining nirvana, Lord Buddha became a figure providing the wisdom he obtained and helped billions of people to end their suffering and attain the state of Nirvana.

Two main branches of Buddhism are Theravada Buddhism and Mahayana Buddhism. Theravada is widely supported by people of Sri Lanka and Southeast Asia and Mahayana Buddhism is widely supported by East Asia.

Ways to peaceful living 

After attaining nirvana, Lord Buddha started teaching the way of life to people. Near the city of Benares, he shared his first teachings with five holy men and they immediately understood his teachings and agreed to follow Lord Buddha. For forty-five years, Buddha along with his disciples started spreading Buddha’s wisdom and teachings in India. The teachings of Lord Buddha are also known as Dhamma. Let’s see some of the important teachings Lord Buddha has left behind for the sake of humanity.

During his enlightenment, Buddha found answers to three universal questions and he explained these answers and truth in a simple way to his disciple.

These Three Universal truths are some basic teachings of The Buddha.

1. Nothing is lost in the Universe:

The first universal truth of Buddha found was nothing is lost in this universe. Old solar systems disintegrate into cosmic rays. We are the child of our parents and we will be the parents of our children.

If we destroy something around us, we destroy ourselves. If we lie to another, we lie to ourselves. Learning and understanding these truths, Lord Buddha and his disciples never killed any animal. 

2. Everything changes:

The second universal truth is everything changes and keeps on changing continuously. Dinosaurs, and mammoths used to rule this planet but now we humans rule the planet. Life is like a river, it keeps on flowing, ever-changing.

3. Law of Cause and effect:

"The kind of seed sown
will produce that kind of fruit.
Those who do good will reap good results.
Those who do evil will reap evil results.
If you carefully plant a good seed,
You will joyfully gather good fruit."
~ Dhammapada

It is mentioned in Dhammapada too, if we do some good things, then good things will come to us. If we do something evil, then evil things will happen to us. It is all due to cause and effect. This law of Cause and effect is known as Karma.

Most religions strongly believe in Karma, and so does Buddhism. Good karma results in good results and evil karma lead to bad results.

The Four Noble Truths 

1. The Noble Truth of Suffering:

"There is happiness in life,
happiness in friendship,
happiness of a family,
happiness in a healthy body and mind,
but when one loses them, there is suffering."
~ Dhammapada

  • What are sufferings?
    Suffering is everywhere. When people are born, they cry. When they are sick, they have pain. When they are old, they have sufferings from their body. When people die, someone dearly feels sorrow for their death.

2. The Noble Truth of Cause of Suffering: 

What are the causes of these sufferings? Why do we feel pain? Why do people suffer?

These are the result of greed or wanting more, ignorance, and the wrong idea of pleasure.

3. The Noble Truth of End of suffering: 

In order to end these sufferings, one must be able to cut off their greed, the idea of having pleasure. One must learn and have the knowledge to cut off ignorance.

The first way to end these sufferings is to change one’s views and must try to live in a natural way and must possess a peaceful mind. The state where one ends their suffering and lives a peaceful way is known as Nirvana. This is the highest goal and aim of Buddhism and Buddha tries to spread his knowledge to people so that they can end their suffering.

4. The Noble Truth of Path to end suffering: 

The path to ending the suffering is called the Noble Eightfold Path or the Middle way.

Noble Eight Fold Path or Middle Way 

The path to ending the suffering of people is known as Noble Eightfold Path or Middle Way. Noble Eightfold Path is one of the principal teachings of Buddha. These teachings of Buddha described the way leading to a cessation of dukkha and the state of self-awakening. The Noble Eightfold path is described below:

1. Right View:

What is the right view?

Knowledge about the cause of suffering, knowledge to end the cause of suffering, and knowledge to a way of the path to end the suffering. This is called the right view.

2. Right Intention:

Right intention can also be called as “right thought”. Understanding the right view, one should be able to differentiate between right intention and wrong intention. One should be resolved to be free from an ill will is what the right intention will teach you.

3. Right Speech:

One should always keep themselves from lying and ill speech. One should make the best use of their speech and abandon false speech and always speak the truth.

4. Right Conduct:

Never hurting others, criticizing others, and being well-behaving, are the right conduct. One should never conduct any actions that may harm others.

5. Right Livelihood:

"Do not earn your living by harming others. Do not seek happiness by making others unhappy." The Buddha.

One should never choose to live where his way of living may directly or indirectly harm others.

6. Right Effort:

Right effort can also be called the “right endeavor”. One should always try to take any action in the goodwill of people.

7. Right Mindfulness:

People must constantly keep their minds to phenomena that may affect the body and mind. This means one must be aware of their thoughts, words, and action.

8. Right Concentration:

Also known as “right meditation”, Right concentration teaches people to concentrate and focus on one thing or object at a time. Thus leading to a quiet and peaceful mind.

Following these 8 Noble Eightfold Paths, one can cultivate wisdom and thus leading to the path to attain “nirvana”.

The Triple Jewel

Lord Buddha establishes the three refuges for people to follow his teachings. A refuge is a place where people can rely on and go to for the purpose of safety. The three refuges that Lord Buddha establishes are as follows:

  • The Buddha is the guide
  • The Dhamma is the path
  • The Sangha is the teachers and companions along the way.

The Five Percepts

In Buddhism, Lord Buddha himself establishes the five most important rules and called them the Five Precepts.

  1. Avoid Killing
  2. Avoid taking anything which is not yours 
  3. Avoid sexual misconduct
  4. Avoid lying
  5. Avoid any false drinks

These are some of the teachings; Lord Buddha himself has passed down for the sake of humanity and for their well beings. Every Buddhist have studied these teachings and practiced them and swore never to make any mistakes or blunder.


The practice of Buddhism puts the individual in the role of “scientist,” running experiments on their own mind to see what works for them. The idea is that through this process (known as mental training), a person can achieve inner peace. And according to Buddhist doctrine, happiness comes from inner peace.

.    .    .